Easter time fun!

Even though Easter is probably my third favourite annual event after Christmas and Halloween, it is still one of the best times of the year – the warmer weather is (usually!) arriving by now, Springtime is underway and fluffy bunnies and Bank Holidays come to mind!

IMG_3477

Of course then theres also the large amount of Easter Eggs, Hot Cross Buns and other Easter goodies such as Easter Biscuits and Simnel Cake which make this holiday worth waiting for!

Each year I arrange a three course family lunch on Easter Sunday and there’s usually around 8 to 10 of us. I try and do a different menu each year (which is proving harder and harder with everyone’s different tastes!) and I try and arrange some Easter fun and games as well. A few years back I made everyone their very own Easter baskets with their names on and from that year onwards I sent them off into the back garden to fill their Easter baskets with chocolate. Although the family loved their Easter Egg hunts, everyone had so much in their Easter Baskets that they still had some left over months later! So this year I thought it was best to try something a little bit different!

This year I came across these lovely little Easter Bunnies from Lidl! They were only £3.99 each and each one has a yellow, white or orange flower in it. Everyone had their very own bunny with their name on it and an Easter trail clue which told them how to find this years Easter surprise! Each bunny is slightly different which made me like them even more!

IMG_3429

The Easter bunnies held a clue which took everyone to the hiding place of their Easter treat – instead of Easter Eggs this year I bought everyone their very own fantastic Sweet Tree! How amazing are these?? I’m so impressed with them I’m going to give them a blog all on their own so watch this space!

IMG_3458

As part of the Easter celebrations, every place setting has its very own obligatory set of bunny ears in pink, blue or yellow, and each year I buy everyone an Easter table favour to match.

This year I found these amazing Wax Amaryllis bulbs in matching blue, pink and yellow – perfect Easter pastels! They don’t need to be watered and will sprout in only a couple of weeks – I found them in the flower section of my local Marks and Spencer’s!

IMG_3536

A couple of weeks later they flowered beautifully!

IMG_4237

Anyway, onto the best bit – dessert!! I am not going to be particularly surprising here as I stuck with my old faithful friend – The English Cheesecake Company to sort out our incredible dessert! I went for the Fruit Fantasy Variety cake as it had 4 different flavours of cheesecake to choose from – Mango Passionate, Raspberry Split, Summer Fruits, and Sicilian Lemon, and I also ordered a Butterscotch Caramel Crunch for the chocolate lovers of the family so there was something for everyone. You can have the cheesecakes delivered pre-portioned so you can keep them in the freezer and then just take out however many you need to defrost for a couple of hours before serving!

IMG_3484

As I was feeling especially greedy at the time of ordering, I also ordered their special edition Easter Cheesecake Minis!! Ooops!

IMG_3485

English Cheesecake Company really are amazing, I’ve been using them for a while now – check out my blog about them here.

As usually happens at times like Christmas and Easter, after most people had gone home for the day my sister and brother in law stayed for the evening so we could eat and drink some more!

I had a few bottles of Prosecco we could work our way through this evening and bought some amazing additions from Popaball to go with it! Check out their amazing new product Shimmer for Prosecco! People’s faces light up when you serve them a glass of Prosecco with this added in – it makes the Prosecco go a Rose Gold colour with little gold hearts floating in it – it looks amazing and tastes like raspberry! The Shimmer for Prosecco is £6.99 a pot and one pot will be enough for around 14 glasses of Prosecco.

When we finally got over our sugar rush from earlier, and after sinking a Amaretto Sours and Strawberry Daiquiri’s we then tucked into several varieties of “Cookie Doe”! This product is an absolute must for cookie dough lovers! A separate blog on this great product is to follow!

IMG_3283

And of course it wouldn’t be Easter without Hot Cross Buns! This year I stocked up on Salted Caramel and Chocolate Chip (a la Tesco’s) and Toffee Fudge and Belgian Chocolate from Marks and Spencer’s just as a change from the normal fruity flavours that are available!

Another amazing Easter celebration full of fun, family, food and drink!! Still working my way through the washing up though!!

Happy Easter everyone!

Leave a Reply

